Go to the online Municipal Court Ticket Information and Payment System to:
- Pay a fine (partial or installment payments cannot be made online), request a first-time continuance, find a court date, case information, bond information, or a Municipal Court bench warrant.
- IMPORTANT NOTICE: Municipal Court web payments are handled through a third-party vendor. Please note that a third party convenience fee will be added to transactions in addition to what is owed to the Kansas City Municipal Court. The fee is 2.0% of the Amount Due plus 25 cents per transaction. The fee goes directly to the vendor and is not retained by Municipal Court or the City. If the Amount Due is 0.00 your Fine is already paid or you are required to appear in Court.
Find case information on the Municipal Court Ticket Information and Payment System:
- Online information and payment service is available for open, active cases only. Additional information may be available by contacting 816-513-2700 or 311 or by visiting the Violations Bureau on the first floor of the courthouse at 511 E. 11th Street, Kansas City, MO 64106.
What you need to know about…
If you had valid insurance on the date your insurance ticket was issued, the ticket may be dismissed by the Prosecutor without an appearance in court prior to your court date by doing the following within 15 days of the violations:
You MUST email firstname.lastname@example.org with:
- Your full name
- Your ticket number
- Copy of insurance card
The prosecutor will call and verify that your insurance coverage was valid at date and time the ticket was issued. You will be notified by email within 7 days of your submission if your case will be dismissed or if you must appear in court. Please know that getting your insurance ticket dismissed DOES NOT exclude your responsibility for any other citations issued to you.
Paying your fine
- You may view the Municipal Court Fine Schedule for a list of fines and court costs for payable cases (cases that may be paid without going to court.)
- Use a credit card or debit card to pay your fine online. You can choose to print your receipt or have it sent to you via email.
- Mail a check or money order payable to “Municipal Court” to P.O. Box 219381, Kansas City, MO 64121-9381. Please write your ticket number in the memo field of your check.
- Pay in person at the Violations Bureau on the first floor of the courthouse located at 511 E. 11th Street, Kansas City, MO 64106, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday. Bypass the line by putting a check or money order with your name and ticket number on it in an envelope and slipping it into our convenient drop box. DO NOT put cash payments in the drop box please.
- If you need additional time to pay your fine:
- Payment plan arrangements may be made on qualifying cases in person at Violations Bureau. Some cases may first require a court appearance and a decision in the case by the judge.
- All partial or installment payments must be made at the courthouse or by mail as outlined in an approved payment plan contract. Partial or installment payments cannot be made online.
- Send all questions about Municipal Court payments to email@example.com.
Continuing your court date
- Most Municipal Court cases are eligible for a continuance for the first court appearance. Cases that are not eligible for a first time continuance are domestic violence cases and non-payable housing and animal violation cases.
- You may make a request for a first-time continuance online or by calling 816-513-2700 or 311.
- Cases that have previously been continued are not eligible for a continuance on the website or by phone and may require a court appearance and the permission of the judge.
Changing your address
- If you have a pending case with Municipal Court or are on a Municipal Court payment plan or probation you are responsible for updating your address and other contact information with the court.
- To submit address and contact information changes send email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- You may also go to the Violations Bureau on the first floor of the courthouse or call 816-513-2700.
If you are the victim or City’s witness in a Municipal Court case
- If you are the victim or City’s witness in a case, the City Prosecutor’s Office will only notify you if your presence is needed on that date. Victims and the City’s witnesses may contact the City Prosecutor’s Office for more information.