Municipal Court FAQ
My license is suspended or I received notification from the DMV that my license will be suspended. What do I do?
Information regarding Missouri point assessment and suspended/revoked licenses is available at the Missouri Department of Revenue.
How much time do I have to pay my traffic ticket?
You have until the scheduled court date to pay a fine. Fines ordered by the judge are due the same day.
What if I need additional time to pay?
You must go in person to the Violations Bureau at the courthouse. The cashier will enter all outstanding money due on a payment contract. Fines for multiple tickets can be included in one contract. You will be required to make your first payment within 30 days if none of the cases in your payment plan are in warrant status. If you have any cases in warrant status, you will be required to pay 25% of the total balance before the payment contract will be issued and the warrants canceled.
If my ticket is payable, can I still plead not guilty and see a judge?
If you wish to dispute the citation, you must appear in court personally on the scheduled date, and enter a “not guilty” plea. Failure to appear in court on your scheduled court date can result in a warrant for your arrest.
What time should I arrive for my court date?
Please arrive 30-45 minutes before your scheduled hearing to allow enough time to go through security. Defendants are responsible for being on time and present in court when their cases are called. Those who are not could have a warrant issued for their arrest for failing to appear for the hearing.
I missed my court date and my case has gone into warrant status, what do I do?
- If the case is payable, your options are to either 1. Plead guilty and pay your fine; 2. Plead guilty and enter a payment plan and pay 25% of the total balance; 3. Post a bond to get a new court date; or 4. Appear at a walk-in docket to talk to a judge about recalling your warrant. Be aware that the judge may or may not order you to be taken into custody.
- If the case is non-payable, you may either 1. Post bond to receive a new court date; or 2. Appear at a walk-in docket to talk to a judge about recalling your warrant. Be aware that the judge may or may not order you to be taken into custody.
Can someone else take care of my warrant?
An attorney is the only person that can appear on your behalf in court.
Can I post bond online?
All bonds must be paid in person at the Violations Bureau on the first floor of the courthouse or at the Kansas City Missouri Police Department. Bonds cannot be posted online.
How can I find a professional bail bondsmen?
The 16th Circuit Court of Jackson County website includes a list of bail bondsmen who have been approved for the purpose of signing various bail bonds as sureties and/or as attorneys-in-fact.
How do I get back my bond money?
In order to receive a bond refund, you must appear in person at the Violations Bureau on the first floor of the courthouse to file a bond refund voucher. You must have a state issued identification card, such as, a driver license to verify your identity.
I filled out my bond refund voucher and have not received my refund yet?
After the bond refund voucher has been filed, the refund will be mailed within 7-10 business days.
What if I need an interpreter or disability accommodation for my court date?
If you need disability accommodations for your court date, please contact 311 at least three (3) business days prior to your court date, and tell the customer service representative what accommodations you will need.
How do I get my driver license reinstated?
Driver license reinstatement requirements are available at the Missouri Department of Revenue.
How can I find an attorney?
The Missouri Bar maintains a Legal Resource phone line at 573-636-3635, which contains information about various legal resources available to the public or you may go to the Missouri Bar Lawyer Search Service.
What if I cannot afford to hire an attorney?
You must appear in court on the scheduled arraignment court date and speak with the judge to request a public defender (indigent defense). There will be paperwork to complete regarding income and other determining factors. The judge will pre-qualify you at that time and if appropriate will continue your case to a future docket where a Legal Aid attorney will be present. Legal Aid of Western Missouri’s phone number is 816-474-6750.
I am the victim or the City’s witness in a Municipal Court case. How will I know when to come to court?
If you are the victim or City’s witness in a case, the City Prosecutor’s Office will only notify you if your presence is needed on that date. Victims and the City’s witnesses may contact the City Prosecutor’s Office for more information.