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Trial De Novo Hearings

If you are not present in court on your
hearing date and time, the Court may find
that you have abandoned the trial de novo
and remand the case back to the Kansas
City Municipal Division for execution of
judgment on your original sentence.

Trial De Novo Hearing Locations

Your paperwork will show whether your
hearing is in Jackson County, Platte County
or Clay County.

16th Judicial Circuit of Jackson County
Unless another location is specified on your
paperwork, hearings are held at:

Albert Riederer Community Justice
Complex

1315 Locust, 2" Floor

Kansas City, MO 64106

Phone: 816-881-4350

www. 16thcircuit.org/

6" Judicial Circuit of Platte County
Platte County Courthouse

328 Main Street

Platte City, MO 64106

Phone: 816-858-2232
www.co.platte.mo.us/circuitclerk

7" Judicial Circuit at Clay County
James S. Rooney Justice Center
11 South Water Street

Liberty, MO 64068

Phone: 816-407-3850
www.circuit7.net/

CIRCUIT COURT OF MISSOURI
SIXTEENTH JUDICAL CIRCUIT COURT
KANSAS CITY MUNICIPAL DIVISION
511 E. 11th Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
Phone: 816-513-2700
Fox: 816-513-6782
Email: court@kcmo.org

A GUIDE TO FILING A
TRIAL DE NOVO/APPEAL

A trial de novo is a brand-new
trial in a different division of the
Circuit Court. It is as if the trial in

the Kansas City Municipal

Division did not occur.
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Are you eligible for Trial De
Novo/Appeal?

1. You are eligible to file a trial de
novo when you plead not guilty but
were found guilty by the Court.

2. You are eligible to file a trial de
novo if you plead not guilty and
received a Suspended Imposition of
Sentence (SIS) probation and that
probation was later revoked.

3. You are not eligible to file a trial de
novo if you plead guilty.

4. You are not eligible to file a trial de
novo upon the revocation of your
probation if you originally plead

quilty.

5. You must file your trial de novo
within 10 (ten) calendar days of the
Court’s decision. If the 10th
calendar day falls on a Saturday,
Sunday or legal holiday, the deadline
will be the next business day. No
time extensions can be granted.

6. Paying any part of the fine or court
costs will deny your eligibility for
the trial de novo process.

Missouri Supreme Court Rule 37 and 479.200 RSMo

*All filings and motions are to be filed with the Circuit Court after the case has been transferred to the Circuit Court. Including but not limited to: A formal

"Filing for Trial De Novo
In-Custody

1. Request trial de novo application
from correctional facility staff.

2. Provide the following information on
the application:
e Case number(s)
e Judgment date
e Updated address
¢ Updated phone number
¢ Sign and date application

3. Give the signed application to
correctional staff within ten calendar
days of the guilty finding.

4. If you remain in custody, you will be
deemed eligible to proceed as a
poor person and your application will
be processed with no filing fee.

5. The Municipal Court will process the
filing and forward your case to the
Circuit Court within 15 days.

Filing for Trial De Novo
Out of Custody

File a trial de novo application at the
Violations Bureau on the 1%t Floor of the
Municipal Court. Trial de novo
applications will automatically default to
the 16" Judicial Circuit Court at
Jackson County. However, you may
request the trial to be in Clay or Platte
Counties if the offense occurred there.

Provide the following information on the
application:

e Case number(s)

¢ Judgment date

¢ Updated address

¢ Updated phone number
¢ Sign and date application

. You must post the bond amount set by

the judge, if any as well as a $30.00
filing fee. Pay by cash credit/debit card
or money order.

If you cannot afford to pay the

$30.00 filing fee or the bond amount,
you may request to proceed as a poor
person. Additional paperwork must be
completed and signed by the
sentencing judge.

. The Municipal Court will process the

filing and forward your case to the
Circuit Court within 15 days.

Entry of Appearance, Motion for Dismissal, Motion for Continuance, etc.






